Welcome to the first video recap of 2023, where I start with the January 2023 Google webmaster report. I then explain how the Google helpful content and link spam updates are still rolling out and, more so, still causing volatility. Google explained why assigning start, and end dates to some algorithm updates is hard and not an exact science. Microsoft Bing is reportedly going to be integrating Open AI’s ChatGPT solution. Google’s John Mueller spoke about using AI and ChatGPT for title tag generation. A Google Search research paper that is probably related to the helpful content update really paints a black eye on SEO. Google’s URL Inspection tool’s referring page can show a nofollow link. Google has dropped the 110-character limit on the headline property for article structured data. Google Search Console sent out a survey asking what you want from the tool. Google Search Console may have an ongoing issue with tracking local pack results. A case study says reviews that have photos on them last longer in the Google local results. Google Ads removed redundant keywords recommendation is pushing more to broad match. Google Search has a new “popular next step” search refinement. And John Mueller of Google was helping SEOs on New Year again. And if you want to help sponsor those vlogs, go to patreon.com/barryschwartz. That was the search news this week at the Search Engine Roundtable.

Sponsored by Bruce Clay, one of the founding fathers of the SEO space, doing search marketing optimization since 1996. Bruce Clay is big into SEO training, check out seotraining.com to learn more and check them out at bruceclay.com.

0:00 – Introduction
1:05 – January 2023 Google Webmaster Report : https://www.seroundtable.com/january-2023-google-webmaster-report-34664.html
1:50 – Google: The Helpful Content Update & Link Spam Update Still Ongoing : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-helpful-content-update-link-spam-update-still-ongoing-34672.html
2:22 – Google Search Ranking Algorithm Update Signals On January 3rd & 4th : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-search-ranking-algorithm-update-34682.html
3:10 – Start & End Dates For Google Algorithm Updates Aren’t Always Exact : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-start-end-dates-to-algorithm-updates-34679.html
5:13 – Report: Microsoft Bing To Add OpenAI’s ChatGPT Feature : https://www.seroundtable.com/microsoft-bing-to-add-openais-chatgpt-feature-34684.html
5:59 – Google’s John Mueller On Using AI & ChatGPT For Title Tag Ideas : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-ai-chatgpt-for-title-tag-ideas-34667.html
6:31 – Google Search Research Paper Says SEO Practices Tends To Be Very Low Quality : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-search-research-paper-negative-on-seo-34688.html
7:57 – Google URL Inspection Tool Referring Page Can Show Nofollow Links But It’s Rare Say John Mueller : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-url-inspection-tool-referring-page-nofollow-34675.html
9:32 – Google Drops 110 Character Limit From Article Headline Structured Data : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-limit-article-headline-structured-data-34681.html
9:58 – Google Search Console Survey – Hint On What May Come? : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-search-console-survey-34678.html
10:15 – Ongoing Report: Google Search Console Not Tracking All Local Pack Clicks : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-search-console-local-pack-clicks-34646.html
10:57 – Study: Reviews With Photos Last Longer In Google Local Results : https://www.seroundtable.com/photo-reviews-google-local-study-34673.html
11:17 – Google Ads Remove Redundant Keywords Recommendation Now Applies Across Match Types : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-ads-remove-redundant-keywords-recommendation-34685.html
12:03 – Google Search “Popular Next Steps” Option : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-search-popular-next-steps-query-refinement-34680.html
12:18 – John Mueller Of Google Helping SEOs On New Years 2023 : https://www.seroundtable.com/john-mueller-google-new-years-34663.html
12:40 – Conclusion

source